The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 9th, 2021, 9:48am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Experience necessary
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Experience necessary  (Read 1811 times)
Chuck
Experience necessary
« on: Feb 21st, 2007, 11:44pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I graduated with a EE degree but my work experience does not utilize my technical background. I plan on going to law school for patent law. Will the lack of engineering work experience affect my chances of working in this field?
IP Logged
plex

Re: Experience necessary
« Reply #1 on: Feb 22nd, 2007, 5:08am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

They like to see it, but it is not necessary if you have a strong academic background that doesn't need support. They care more about what schools, both engineering and law, you went too and how well you did there. That means they like you to have a term of law school done so they can see how you do handling law classes.
IP Logged
Chuck
« Reply #2 on: Feb 22nd, 2007, 7:31pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Well, I graduated from UT Austin with a 3.0 in EE. I plan on taking the USPTO exam prior to starting law school. If I do welll (top 25%) during my1L, will that be sufficient?
IP Logged
plex

« Reply #3 on: Feb 22nd, 2007, 7:58pm »

Yea, that should do it, I cannot say whether it will be easy or hard, but with that you will at least be able to find an externship somewhere, as long as you put some effort into it finding a firm. If it just isn't working out in your area, try and get a job at the USPTO to build experience, though you really don't want to tell them that you are only interested in something short term.