The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 9th, 2021, 10:05am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Help! college student needs adive to become p.l
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help! college student needs adive to become p.l  (Read 2799 times)
aarista

Help! college student needs adive to become p.l
« on: Nov 12th, 2006, 8:29pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hey to all of you experts out there, im a very curious student with loads of questions and need answers. Im a student in college right now getting a degree in biochemistry and someone recomended I look into patent law. Law school is something I have been considering recently so I have a lot of questions.  

1) What exactly is the process of becoming a patent attorney?

2) Is a b.a in biochemistry and J.D from law school enough or do I need a PhD in biochem?  

3) What exactly does a patent lawyer do on a typical day?

4) if I got a degree in biochemistry, can I go into other fields in patent law?

5) If you happen to know, what would the starting salary be in new york? Are patent lawyers needed in ny?
IP Logged
Linus83
Re: Help! college student needs adive to become p.
« Reply #1 on: Nov 15th, 2006, 10:17am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hey Aarista, it’s good to know you are asking some of the right questions this early in your endeavor.  I have done my best to answer all of your questions.  I hope this helps.  

If anybody else disagrees or finds errors in this message, please correct me!  I hate to give out false information.  

1) What exactly is the process of becoming a patent attorney?