The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Dec 9th, 2021, 10:26am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Second Bachelor's? Help!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Second Bachelor's? Help!  (Read 1835 times)
confused_3l
Second Bachelor's? Help!
« on: Oct 16th, 2006, 4:38pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Here's my dilemma: I have a BSCS from a top 10 university, worked for a number of years before law school in the field and am in the top 15% of my law school class (2nd tier).  My problem is that I graduate early in December of this year and I can't seem to get a job in patent law around here. The interviews go well, but I've been told by several firms that they just don't need anyone with a strictly CS background.

So here are my two questions:

1. What, if any, are the best markets for patent lawyers with CS backgrounds? Apparently, they're not in demand at all here in the midwest, at least outside of Chicago. I'm willing to move just about anywhere at this point.

2. It's been suggested that if I go back for a BSEE, I'll have my pick of things. Does anyone have any experience doing a second bachelor's or have any opinions on this option? My concerns (besides being in school any longer) are: school ranking, how long it will take, how employers view a second bachelor's and my job prospects afterwards.  

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Second Bachelor's? Help!
« Reply #1 on: Oct 16th, 2006, 6:01pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Oct 16th, 2006, 4:38pm, confused_3l wrote: