The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 3rd, 2023, 6:35am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   1L Starting to rethink things
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 1L Starting to rethink things  (Read 3788 times)
Ian
1L Starting to rethink things
« on: Oct 15th, 2006, 11:57am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am about 8 weeks into my first year of law school and I'm starting to have second thoughts.  

I have a BSCS from a good school and I was planning to go into IP/Patent law.  I am just starting to question whether or not all the work is worth it.  I work at least 12-14 hours a day and then maybe 5-6 each weekend day and I still don't feel like I'm keeping up.  Is this whats it is going to be like when I'm in practice?  I have a wife and we plan to start a family after I get out of school.  Can I expect to be working 60-70 hours a week once I'm a lawyer?  I don't care about making a lot of money at all.  I would rather make 60-80k and work less hours and have time to spend with my family then make 150k and work 70 hours a week.  Is this even possible as a lawyer?  I enjoy the law MUCH more then I enjoy computer science.  I find it really interesting and intellectual.  Its just that when I'm in the library at 8-9PM and my wife has dinner ready and I'm trying to find out if a municipality has immunity against a negligence claim, I don't enjoy it at all.   Is it possible to work for yourself say filing patents with USPTO and working like 40-45 hours a week?  Maybe I should just cut my losses and go back to doing something else?  I just can't go back to being a cubicle monkey writing software.  I really like the law and I want to make this work, but I don't want to t