The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 6th, 2020, 6:58am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent Bar Exam Qualifications
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent Bar Exam Qualifications  (Read 1160 times)
ryan trevor
Patent Bar Exam Qualifications
« on: Apr 19th, 2006, 5:12pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I have a degree that is ABET accredited from Penn State - Plastic Engineering Technology.  Does anyone think this would be able to qualify for a category A to sit in on the exam?  I know it is not on the list, but has anyone heard of them accepting other degrees depending on there techinical focus?

Also, if I'd have to qualify for a category B, I would have to do so through the 40 hours of:
- 8 hours in physics or 8 hours in chemistry
- 32 hours in engineering

Could I use a combination of chemistry and physics to get the 8 hours?  Also do engineering technology classes count as engineering classes?

I have a lot of classes that focus on the just plastics and the design of plastic parts and molds.  I am hoping someone can shed some insight, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Patent Bar Exam Qualifications
« Reply #1 on: Apr 19th, 2006, 6:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

on Apr 19th, 2006, 5:12pm, ryan trevor wrote:
I have a degree that is ABET accredited from Penn State - Plastic Engineering Technology.  Does anyone think this would be able to qualify for a category A to sit in on the exam?  I know it is not on the list, but has anyone heard of them accepting other degrees depending on there techinical focus?

No.  If your degree title is not on the list, category A is not available until the list is changed.

Quote: