The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 3rd, 2023, 6:53am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   2 paths - IP (Law) or MBA?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2 paths - IP (Law) or MBA?  (Read 5026 times)
Drew83

2 paths - IP (Law) or MBA?
« on: Mar 28th, 2006, 2:30pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Greetings All,

I am seeking advice for whether IP is for me.  I enjoy engineering (i.e. the concepts, theories, equations, etc...), but after working for about a year (I graduated with a BSME last year), I am quickly realizing that I don't want to pursue engineering as my career.

My two paths are either MBA or JD (JD - with the intent on pursuing IP).  Obviously, with the MBA I would change careers to finance, marketing, or sales.  

It seems to me that Law in general is more documentation, whereas types of jobs with an MBA involve more innovative/creative activities.  One deterrent about getting an MBA is that is has become saturated - everyone is getting one or has one.  On the other hand, with law, I would have an engineering degree combined with a law degree, which I believe would definitley make me more marketable in other fields in case I find out practicing IP law isnt for me.  Any truth to this?

In regards to getting an MBA, it seems that there are a multitude of career options that you can choose from.  I understand that this also applies to law school, however, hypothetically lets say that you practice IP for 4-5 years and realize that this isnt for you.....what other career options do you have (excluding in-house careers)?