The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jan 28th, 2023, 1:27am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Out on My Own
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Out on My Own  (Read 1727 times)
John Slinger
Out on My Own
« on: Nov 2nd, 2005, 12:27pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hello All,
    I am a recently admitted patent agent, I have about 1 1/2 years at a patent firm getting prosecution experience.   I was just wondering what others charge out on their own?   Any advice would be greatly appreciated.   Hourly rate?
IP Logged
Bill
Re: Out on My Own
« Reply #1 on: Nov 2nd, 2005, 12:42pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

John, please consider my comments under Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers, the "Beginning private practice" string authored by thought001.
IP Logged
Sodbuster

« Reply #2 on: Nov 27th, 2005, 12:42pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

This response is not directed necessarily at you, but I have been perusing this forum a bit now, and find it "fascinating" that patent agents think they can go it alone with little or no experience.  Under what information are you operating to make this assessment?  How will you get clients? What type of client do you expect to get (industrial)?  How will you keep clients?  What is your docketing system?  Are you sufficiently experienced (technically and/or legally) to advise your client on IP matters?  How will you handle legal documents that you as an Agent are not legally allowed to handle?  blah, blah, blah...  Don't get me wrong, I am not a pessimist, but have you thought this through?
« Last Edit: Nov 27th, 2005, 12:44pm by Sodbuster » IP Logged
Wiscagent

« Reply #3 on: Nov 28th, 2005, 9:33am »

Sod –