The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 2nd, 2023, 9:52am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   biotechy
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: biotechy  (Read 2497 times)
BPM
biotechy
« on: Mar 11th, 2005, 12:26pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I was wondering if anyone know how hard it is it find employment as  a patent attorney with just a BS in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology? I have seen many places prefer a PhD, but have seen many BS at BigLaw firms, Corporations, and Universities.  

I am currently a PhD student in genetics that will be leaving school after only completing 2 years (school does not offer MS, so thats not an option). I love the science, but the PhD isnt really what I am cut out for. In addition to my 2 years of PhD study, I also have 4 years research experience in a molecular genetics lab.  I have accepted a  research position that I would be working at during 4 years of part time law school. So by the time i finish law school I would have ~10 years research experience,  PhD level graduate school experience.  

I was wondering if there were any thoughts on how this would play in the job market. I would hope that my extensive research experience would be beneficial and could substitute for an advanced degree.
IP Logged
Patent_Type

Re: biotechy
« Reply #1 on: Mar 14th, 2005, 11:45am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Why not spend the next four years doing patent prosecution?  If you are in a large enough market, you should be able to find some firm or boutique that will take a look at you.