The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jan 29th, 2023, 12:11am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Becoming a Patent Agent/Lawyer
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Newly Minted Patent Agent w/ ?'s
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3 4  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Newly Minted Patent Agent w/ ?'s  (Read 3940 times)
Brett
Newly Minted Patent Agent w/ ?'s
« on: May 10th, 2004, 5:16am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi everyone.  I was informed a few days ago that I passed the patent bar on appeal.  I have a few questions related to the job market for patent agents.  Is the market hot or cold?  Which readily-available books should I purchase to learn how to draft a patent?  Do large law firms typically subsidize law school?  Any advice is welcome.  BTW, I'm a mechanical engineer with 5 years experience.

Thanks,
Brett
IP Logged
eric stasik

director, patent08

WWW Email

Re: Newly Minted Patent Agent w/ ?'s
« Reply #1 on: May 10th, 2004, 7:36am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Dear Brett,

My impression of the market is that it is lukewarm. For mechanical engineers I don't know if the water is ever warmer than tepid.  

The USPTO is perhaps the best place to look for employment if you want to go to law school and want to learn how to write applications.  

As a general comment, it is a little disturbing that someone can pass the USPTO's registration (not bar) exam and be asking for help as to how to draft an application! I have said it before in this forum, 50% of the USPTO's problems are a result on the applicants' representatives who are not adequately trained.  

In contrast, a European Patent Attorney must have several years of apprenticeship under a registered EP attorney before he is even allowed to sit for the European Qualifying Exam.