The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 26th, 2019, 1:52am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Assignments and Licenses
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Fraudulent Patent Assignment
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fraudulent Patent Assignment  (Read 590 times)
Rich Earls
Fraudulent Patent Assignment
« on: Jan 10th, 2006, 3:56pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I have been selling product X manufactured by company A for almost ten years in the US.  Company A has patents covering X.  I also have been selling product Y that is also covered by Aís patents, but manufactured by company B.  The patents have been assigned to me just before a patent litigation against a competitor with the arrangement that I and my sub-distributors will pay 75% of the litigation cost.  We settled out of court after spending close to $2M.  Recently A asked me to reassign the patents back to A with no apparent reason.  As a distributor, Iíve done so to keep our relationship smooth.  Let me also say that I am related to the owner of A hence the rather unusual handling of matters.  I found out right after the assignment that the owner has sold the company to company C.  It is apparent that C demanded the patent reassignment as a condition of the take over.  Now C can sue me and B for patent infringement and put us out of business.