The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 27th, 2020, 10:19pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Applying for federal funding
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Applying for federal funding  (Read 460 times)
Applying for federal funding
« on: Jul 18th, 2006, 3:33pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a graduate student working in the nanotechnology field and I have a question that I'm hoping the board can help me with?

Our lab has come up with an idea for a new cancer related biomedical device that as of yet is completely on paper (i.e. we have not done any experimental work).  One of the principal investigators that helped come up with the theoretical design of the device has already talked to at least one company (w/ a confidentiality agreement in place) and they seemed to express interest in the idea.  However, there is no commitment in place and no dollars for research costs confirmed.  In the mean time, there is an NIH R21 grant announcement out specifically for funding experimentally unconfirmed projects such as this that could provide up to $275K for research over two years.  I am mildly aware of the fact that once publicly disclosed, we have one year to file for patent protection in the US and have lost patent protection in Europe (correct me, please, if I am wrong).  

My first question is:  Does applying for a federal grant such as an NIH R21 grant constitute public disclosure and start the clock ticking or is that equal to the confidentiality agreement used when talking to a private company?