The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 31st, 2020, 11:57am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Photographs...
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Photographs...  (Read 567 times)
parkinfart

Photographs...
« on: Sep 2nd, 2005, 10:00am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Good day.  this is my first time on one of these sites...
I have been searching everywhere for information about who has the rights to a photograph that I take with my digital camera.
I want to start a card company and use photos I have taken of people and pets over the years, and I don't know if I have to ask people for permission to "make money off of a picture of them" that I took.... Huh
Also, if they do have a say with what happens with their picture etc, do I have to provide some kind of form for them to agree to allow me to use the photo? And can this be something I make up and we both sign, or is there a specific legal document with regards to this?
(It is understood that I would be using the photo's for profit and there would be no degrading, embarrassing or the like, type of pictures/conotations).
Can anyone help me out?
IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Photographs...
« Reply #1 on: Sep 5th, 2005, 11:16am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

That question would be better asked on the Copyright forum.  Technically, it's not a copyright question but is fairly closely related to copyright.  

My very rough understanding of your issue is that it's best to get a signed "release" from the subjects of your photos but that it's not always necessary.  As far as ownership goes, I understand that you own the photos but that private individuals might be able to prevent you from commercializing their images.