The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 27th, 2020, 11:41pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Patent usefulness ?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Patent usefulness ?  (Read 1330 times)
michael_e

Patent usefulness ?
« on: Jul 16th, 2005, 5:06pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

A little background. I was a mechanical design engineer for about 20 years and have for the past 12 have been a jeweler . I cut gemstones, carve waxes and cast them in metal and use many of the same tools that I did when working as an engineer. IN my present work I have built, and use, many machines and tools that are unique, non-obvious and of tremendous utility, (at least to me and I would imagine to other people who work with small precision machines and tools).  

I have often considered attempting to obtain patents on some of the more unique and useful items that I have invented from necessity.  I have detailed drawings, working units and am well versed in the technologies leading up to them as well as any claims that can be made for them. No one else has ever been exposed to the operational characteristics of  these machines and so I assume that  it would be fairly easy to get the ball rolling and begin an attempt to patent at least one idea.  

The question is, "How useful is a patent in defending an idea ?"  
 The reason that I have not pursued this before is that many people that I have encountered have held the opinion that patents have little value other than to bolster  a person's ego. Their contention was that any business entity who had enough money, could do pretty much what they wanted against an individual with a small resource base and little ability to actually defend a patent.