The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 31st, 2020, 1:12pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   IP question
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: IP question  (Read 1354 times)
collegestudent

IP question
« on: Jun 15th, 2005, 1:10am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I'm an undergraduate student at a University and I am being sponsored this summer to do biotech research by this company.  The company is paying for the materials and my salary, and the university is providing the facilities.  The company just gave me an IP form that said they wanted all the rights to my work.......I know that once its completed they will try to patent an application or simply sell the thesis itself to a much bigger company.  I was thinking of writing up my own IP form instead of signing theirs.  What kind of percentage should I ask for?
IP Logged
collegestudent

Re: IP question
« Reply #1 on: Jun 15th, 2005, 1:14am »

Keep in mind that I approached this company with the idea which was my original idea and I am creating the protocol and pretty much running the experiment on my own.....
IP Logged
Wiscagent

« Reply #2 on: Jun 15th, 2005, 5:34am »

Since you are concerned about the contract, hire an attorney to review it in light of your concerns; if you then feel it is okay to sign, go ahead ... sign the contract and take the job.

The alternative is to not sign the contract and look for another job.  It is highly unlikely that the company would consider revising one of its standard contracts for a student - employee.
IP Logged

Richard Tanzer
Patent Agent
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

« Reply #3 on: Jun 15th, 2005, 9:56am »