The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 20th, 2020, 2:22pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Trick Question on Patent Bar!?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Trick Question on Patent Bar!?  (Read 797 times)
steventhewriter

Trick Question on Patent Bar!?
« on: Jan 15th, 2005, 4:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am studying for the Patent Bar, in part by going over old tests.  One question is, "On Monday April 5, 1999, an office action was mailed by the Patent Office, giving a three month reduced statutory period for reply.  What is the latest day to reply without seeking an extension of time?"

The choices are July 2, July 3, July 5, July 6, and August 3 (don't know where they came up with that last one!).  Well, July 4 is obviously excluded because it's a Federal holiday, so the apparent correct choice is July 5.  The answer key, however, indicates that the correct answer is July 6, since July 5 of that year was a Monday, and so was the operational holiday day for July 4th.  Problem is -- it doesn't say anywhere in the question that July 4th, 1999 is a Sunday.  

Do they provide a calendar of some kind along with the test, or am I supposed to be an idiot savante and know this Rainman style?  (No sarcastic replies, please.)  Or am I supposed to actually use my knowledge of the number of days in each month to figure out that July 4 falls on a Sunday!?  (Let's see, if April 5 is a Monday, and April has 30 days, then May 5 is a Wednesday.  May has 31 days, so June 5 must be a Saturday.  June has 30 days, so that moves July 5 to a Monday, making July 4 a Sunday.  But first, I have to start with "30 days hath September, April, June and November....")