The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Sep 24th, 2020, 11:02pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Start production without a patent
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Start production without a patent  (Read 1019 times)
Alex
Start production without a patent
« on: Jan 3rd, 2005, 1:16pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Hi everybody,

I never post any topics here but I've regularly looked over this interesting forum for several years, that's very good professional site. Thanks.

Actually I'm a scientist having some experience in patenting, I mean, I have my own patents in production. And now I feel I need some help. For several years I've worked with some idea, let say this is science intensive stuff in area of plasma physics but very practical in nowadays automotive industry regarding to internal combustion engines. And it is able to get some very unique improvement on a combustion process, fuel consumption, emissions, etc. Well, I don't want to bother anyone with the numbers and theory.

Now I'm on a stage of preproduction. I stepped over research, design, prototyping. And I guess during a month the product will be in a market in some limited series. Actually everything is ready to apply for the patent in couple-three days. But my feeling is very contradictory about this. I don't see any profit in my situation filing the application, I don't believe in patent protection and patent system itself especially for complex high-technology things (did anybody see the patents for space or military technologies?).

So, patent filing pluses:

- probably some protection in the far future for product replication in mass production;