The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 23rd, 2020, 5:08am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   how to patent
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: how to patent  (Read 3135 times)
peanut

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

how to patent
« on: Dec 18th, 2003, 3:32pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

i have recently made an idea for a product but do not know how to patent it, might i add that i am canadian im rather new to business can someone help me. thanks
IP Logged
M. Arthur Auslander
Re: how to patent
« Reply #1 on: Dec 18th, 2003, 7:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

Dear Peanut,
Patent bedamned. The big question is how to deal with the idea if it has any value and to keep yourself from spending a fortune before you find out.

That is why we have the Reality Check®.  There are scams and even patent practitioners that can get a lot of money out of you for ideas that have no possibility of making money.

M. Arthur Auslander  
Auslander & Thomas-Intellectual Property Law Since 1909
3008 Johnson Ave., New York, NY 10463
7185430266, aus@auslander.com
ELAINE's Workshop®
E arly L egal A dvice I s N ot E xpensive™
Reality Check®

IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

« Reply #2 on: Dec 19th, 2003, 11:34am »

Hi Peanut,

Here's a little article I call, "The Most Important Thing You Need to Know About Patents":

http://www.iveylaw.com/index.php?option=articles&task=viewarticle&am p;artid=3&Itemid=3

In short, Timing!  You need to know what sort of activities in which you may engage can damage your patent rights.

There's a book on the patent process generally by David Pressman called "Patent It Yourself" (Nolo Press).  A lot of people get started there.