The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 23rd, 2020, 3:51am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

I have an Invention ... Now What?
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   am I crazy?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: am I crazy?  (Read 1405 times)
mdm

am I crazy?
« on: Mar 1st, 2004, 9:17pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am an engineer with considerable technical writing experience including preparation of technical and licensing documents.   I have a number of ideas that I believe to be commercially valuable and may be patentable.  In most cases the ideas are relatively straight forward product innovations that I am technically capable of  explaining and ensuring they are technically viable.   Since there are a number of ideas that I would like to pursue, I would like to learn to do this myself if possible to avoid the substantial cost of hiring a professional.   As a minimum, I am attempting to prepare a provisional patent that I can use to assess the potential value of the idea.  

I have  read a few books on taking ideas to market and obtaining patents and I believe that I have a reasonable understanding  of  what is involved.  I have read the book “Patent It yourself” by David Pressman and followed that guidance to prepare a couple of draft patents.  I think I have a grasp of the concepts and writing techniques and have prepared a reasonably sound document including broadly defined claims.   It is my understanding that I may get some assistance from the patent office itself.   However, I also recognize the value of experience both in preparing a patent and subsequently in negotiating any rights that I may acquire.