The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
May 26th, 2019, 2:23pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Improvement Patents
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Compositional Relationships and Patents
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Compositional Relationships and Patents  (Read 3076 times)
anup joshi
Compositional Relationships and Patents
« on: Mar 9th, 2004, 6:12am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

An absolute newbie to patent legalese, and my apologies in advance.  

I have a question pertaining to compositional designs.  

If A is a concept or an artifact, and I develop an artifact B  that is a superset of  concept of A in the artifact would I be infringing A ?

An example to further clarify :

Let us say  (hypothetically) I was the inventor of the car and wanted to patent it. The concept of revolute joints or bearings (analogous to concept A) was already patented.  

My invention (the car) fundamentally uses revolute joints, but the function of the whole (car) is what my concept (concept B)  is about as opposed to just the revolute joint or bearing which are utilized in transmitting motion from the drive shaft to the wheel.
Further Let us also say the conceptual equations of the joint are what I use but use a different material.  
Would I the (hypothetical) inventor of the car be stepping on patent A then?
Do I have to in any way be concerned about A ? If yes in what way ?

does anyone understand this?

Thanks,

IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Compositional Relationships and Patents
« Reply #1 on: Mar 9th, 2004, 11:30am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Let's see if I understand this.  I'll rephrase the question to narrow the issues a little.

Invention A (patented by another) includes elements X+Y+Z.