The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jan 24th, 2021, 9:43am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Who owns copyright—company or client?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Who owns copyright—company or client?  (Read 1029 times)
rexchang

Who owns copyright—company or client?
« on: Jan 3rd, 2007, 9:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi, I'm a graphic designer and my business partner and I both left the same design studio (we'll call it Studio X) to start our own. Listed below are points needed to establish an answer.

1. On our website, we show work for Company XYZ that we designed while we were employed at Studio X.

2. On our website, this work is clearly attributed as work that was done at Studio X.

3. Company XYZ, for whom this work was done, negotiated a buyout of rights associated with the project.

4. On the back cover of the work reads ©XYZ IP, LP.

5. We have written permission to display the work on our website from Company XYZ as examples of previous work experience.

We have been sent a cease and desist email from Studio X's President. (not from their attorney). In the email, Studio X's President states that "The portfolio items you are addressing were done at Studio X while you were employees of Studio X. Therefore the intellectual copyright belongs to Studio X. Any permission to showcase Studio X work needs to come from me not a Studio X client." He has asked that this work be taken down from our website.

Given the points listed above, who owns the intellectual copyright? Are we allowed to showcase work from Company XYZ? Can Studio X force us to take down work done for Company XYZ?
IP Logged
Lyza

Re: Who owns copyright—company or client?