The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Aug 25th, 2019, 9:27pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Where Do I Start?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Where Do I Start?  (Read 679 times)
darker_shade101

Where Do I Start?
« on: Sep 26th, 2006, 8:42pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a Graphic Designer and I want to go into freelance under a business name. I have a name I've chosen. Do I need to trademark it, copyright it, register with my state as a business? Im just not sure where or how to begin.
IP Logged
Lyza

Re: Where Do I Start?
« Reply #1 on: Sep 26th, 2006, 9:28pm »

First, this is a trademark issue.  Find qualified IP counsel to help you clear the tradename as available for use before you spend any money applying for protection of a business brand.  Concurrently, make sure you are able to register the business under your choice of names with your Secretary of State's office.  If all is available, file your LLC/Inc. or sole proprietor papers.  You should probably also talk with someone well versed in the procedures of starting up a company.

Finally, I would get a copy of "The eMyth Revisited" which is a fantastic book that details the entreprenurial myth and why beginning businesses often fail.  Good luck.
« Last Edit: Sep 26th, 2006, 9:31pm by Lyza » IP Logged

Lyza L. Sandgren, President/CEO
CanopyLegal LLC
lyza2855@gmail.com
www.canopylegal.com
North Amer. Rep for WebTMS TM Mgmt System
This message should be mistaken for or construed as legal advice.
Isaac

« Reply #2 on: Sep 27th, 2006, 1:14pm »