The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 18th, 2019, 7:34am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Can someone arbitrarily declare a photo copywrite
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Can someone arbitrarily declare a photo copywrite  (Read 1004 times)
asj

Can someone arbitrarily declare a photo copywrite
« on: Jun 28th, 2006, 12:45pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I am a recording artist and I just recently terminated my management.  We basically operated off of a "handshake" for the past 3 years.  During the stent of the relationship he would also take photos of me performing and periodically we would have them put onto the website for display.  As a means of retaliation because of his termination, he pulls the website down, which contained approximately 2 years of photos.  Luckily I owned the domain name, so I had a new website designed, and I was able to save the photos from the previous site.  

A month after being terminated, the manager is declaring that I am in violation of copywrite laws because several of the photos that were on the previous site are on the new one too.  Keep in mind that I was given the majority, if not all, of these on disk by the manager with no stipulations.

Can he sue me for copyright infringement?  All of the photos are of me and none are being sold.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Can someone arbitrarily declare a photo copywr
« Reply #1 on: Jun 28th, 2006, 1:11pm »

Photographs and other copyrightable works are protected by copyright automatically upon fixing in a tangible medium of expression.  For a photograph, copyright protection would exist essentially as soon as the camera shutter opened and closed.