The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 22nd, 2019, 11:20pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Drawings/Specs Protection
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Drawings/Specs Protection  (Read 956 times)
jimmy neutron
Drawings/Specs Protection
« on: Jan 17th, 2006, 9:20am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I build high end decks for a living.  A few times, I have gone to people, created drawing plans/blueprints for how a deck could look, only for the potential customer to say they no longer want the deck.  Shortly thereafter, I will see the deck just as I had planned, built by someone else. So basically they are stealing my plans and using them theirselves.   What kind of protection can I get.  

Can I register the specs for copyright protection, or is there not enough artistic value in them? What if my spec calls for a 24 ft deck with a bunch of bells and whistles, and they build a 25 foot deck with the same bells and whistles, the extra foot not making a material difference.

What if I just say something on the spec that says, "these specs are the property of my company, any use or reproduction without my permission is prohibited"?

Thanks.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Drawings/Specs Protection
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17th, 2006, 10:53am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I think there is a fairly high likelihood that you could register a copyright in your drawings/blueprints.  I'm not so sure that you could successfully and cost effectively prevent use copyright law to prevent someone from building a deck based on those plans.