The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Feb 25th, 2021, 11:34pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Right to show work in portfolio
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Right to show work in portfolio  (Read 983 times)
brooklyndesigner

Right to show work in portfolio
« on: Nov 28th, 2005, 1:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I worked with a client to redesign their website.  The only contract provided was by me and made no statement as to copyright or ownership of the website design.  I put the design up in my portfolio as I do with all clients.  This client, however, has threatened to sue me if I do not take it down.

There is no contract.  There was no NDA.  I was a paid freelancer -- paid by project as stipulated by my contract.

This client paid me via paypal.  When he saw that I had posted the designs on my website he was able to take back his payment on paypal (after I had already cashed the check -- so now paypal has put a lien on my credit card).  He says he won't pay me for the work that is up publically on his website until I take down the work in my portfolio.  

Thank you for your advice.
IP Logged
Isaac

Re: Right to show work in portfolio
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28th, 2005, 1:58pm »

Under the terms described it seems to be that you would own the copyright your design.  However the word "redesign" suggests that the content of the web page you designed might include materials provided by your customer, and for which your customer does own the copyright.   Obviously I'm just guessing here.

Additionally you may be displaying trademarks or the name of your customer or in a way suggesting an endorsement or affiliation that does not exist.