The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Sep 18th, 2014, 9:01pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Fair Use of a Logo?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Fair Use of a Logo?  (Read 2381 times)
Glenn Cowen
Fair Use of a Logo?
« on: Oct 7th, 2004, 10:45am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am a sports documentary film producer and I am putting together a documentary on some of the great high school basketball players of the last 10 years.  My question concerns the use of high school logos for some cover art we would like to create:

The artwork will be an illustration piece reproducing the high school jerseys of some of the notable players featured in the film.  Basically, I want to know, can I do this without violating any copyrights/trademarks the school may have in and to their school jersey logos, or is there a fair use qualification that would allow me to do this?  

Its not like I'm trying to sell replicas, I just want to create artwork that incorporates their logos.

Thanks!

Glenn Cowen
glenn@ross-productions.com

IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Fair Use of a Logo?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 7th, 2004, 2:08pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

That's an interesting question.  It's unlikely that high schools would have aggressive enforcement campaigns on their logos (as trademarks or as copyrighted material).  However, if Disney made a movie that thoroughly exploited a high school logo and made lots of money, you can reasonably expect that the school -- most likely having fiscal issues -- would like to see some of that money.