The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Sep 23rd, 2020, 4:41am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Copyright Forum
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Help! My idea was stolen.  Do I have any reco
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help! My idea was stolen.  Do I have any reco  (Read 496 times)
Feel Cheated
Help! My idea was stolen.  Do I have any reco
« on: Apr 7th, 2004, 2:24pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify Remove Remove

I am hoping that you can help me.  I work as a teacher for a very large company that teaches classes and publishes books to assist students taking standardized exams.  This company has a message board for teachers to help other teachers.  It is not available to the general public.  On one post, I posted a specific method I devised to help these students.  I developed this method from my own research on my own time.    

This company now published a book for their course using my method.  Parts of the method are copied word-for-word from this post into their book.  The parts that are not word-for-word are paraphrased.  They never contacted me about using it.  They also never paid me for it.  I certainly did not give them my permission.  However, in the front of the book, they added my name as a person they wanted to thank.  Obviously, this confirms that they took my idea.  

I work a couple hours a month for this company and get paid by the hour.  It is not part of my job to develop their curriculum.  They have full-time staff which does this.  They do have people freelance for them.  In these cases, they pay the freelancers.  The freelancers also have to sign a contract allowing for their work to be published.  I never signed such a contract.