The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 16th, 2019, 1:49am

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums
   Other
   Miscellaneous Topics
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Name Usage?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Name Usage?  (Read 1375 times)
Christina

Name Usage?
« on: Mar 15th, 2006, 9:13pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Is there anything I can do about this...
I just googled my own name.  I am devastated.  I am a student of philosophy and have been a serious artist for about twelve  years.  I have never shown any of my work, but have not ruled out the possibility - when I am ready.  I'm still studying and developing my ideas.  In any case, there seems to be an artist in New York state, who has the same nameHuhHuh as I do.  I find that very difficult to believe.  Her work, in comparison seems gouche, boysterous and I think diminishes the relevance of what I am trying to do.  I don't think there is any comparison, but the fact that what I know as my name is being presented in such an unseemly manner is extremely offensive to me. Please help!!!
IP Logged
JimIvey

jamesdivey  

Re: Name Usage?
« Reply #1 on: Mar 15th, 2006, 10:19pm »

Unfortunately, I don't have an answer.  But my partner, Michael Smith, knows exactly how you feel.  Every now and then, he finds someone using his name too.

Sorry I couldn't help more.
IP Logged

--
James D. Ivey
Law Offices of James D. Ivey
http://www.iveylaw.com
Isaac

« Reply #2 on: Mar 16th, 2006, 12:13pm »

Since you have not yet shown your work, maybe you could use a distinctive variation of your name when you get around to doing so.

There's nothing you can do aobut someone sharing your name...
IP Logged

Isaac
Wiscagent

« Reply #3 on: Mar 16th, 2006, 1:08pm »