The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 20th, 2021, 7:29pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   USPTO or Firm? Career Advise
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: USPTO or Firm? Career Advise  (Read 1209 times)
rodney

USPTO or Firm? Career Advise
« on: Jun 17th, 2007, 11:16am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi.  I was wondering if anyone coud help me.  Here is my dilemma:

I just graduated from law school in May and have a good job as a first year associate at large law firm on the east coast.  This is the first time I've done any prosecution work.  Because of a lack of experience, all my work takes ages to finish and all the work is done incorrectly.  I started work when I graduated and the stress of redoing work, getting yelled at, and spending at least 12 hours a day working including weekends has started to impact me mentally.  I understand that work would have it's challenges and there is a learning curve.

I was wondering if others have felt this same way.  Also, what if i were to leave this position to work at the USPTO as an examiner.  I know they provide training and I was thinking about going back and getting my masters in EE during this time.  

If i do go back and work as an examiner, what would be my prospects if I want to go back to the law firm environment?

any input is appreciated.
IP Logged
Bill Richards

WWW Email

Re: USPTO or Firm? Career Advise
« Reply #1 on: Jun 17th, 2007, 12:21pm »

This only partiallly answers your question, but FWIW I think one can read all the patents in the world, but that's no substitute for writing claims, drafting applications, and making arguments to the PTO.  Having said that, PTO experience will help you down the road.