The Intellectual Property Law Server

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Oct 20th, 2021, 8:58pm

Forums Forums Help Help Search Search Members Members Calendar Calendar Login Login Register Register
   Intellectual Property Forums

Patent Agent/Lawyer Careers
(Moderators: Forum Admin, JimIvey, JSonnabend)
   Eligibility issue I want to ask about
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Eligibility issue I want to ask about  (Read 1358 times)
junsp77

Eligibility issue I want to ask about
« on: May 31st, 2007, 1:18am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello, thanks for the voluntary help from you guys.

I have degree of BS, MS in Biomedical Engineering from a school in U.S.  

Although I studied in U.S. from high school and have degrees in univ., I still don't have a permanent residentship, officially alien in this land.

Can I still take Patent Bar to become a patent agent ?

To help out, here is a statement to refer to: "The USPTO will require that all applicants be citizens, alien residents in good standing, or foreigners in good standing to serve with their own patent offices. "

Sounds like I need to be employeed by a patent office or at least already working for one to be eligibile to take Patent Bar, which to me, not making much sense.

Anybody who can help me on this issue ?

thanks
IP Logged
Bill Richards

WWW Email

Re: Eligibility issue I want to ask about
« Reply #1 on: May 31st, 2007, 3:57am »

on May 31st, 2007, 1:18am, junsp77 wrote:

Can I still take Patent Bar to become a patent agent ?

Maybe.  Check here.
IP Logged

William B. Richards, P.E.
The Richards Law Firm
Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights
614/939-1488
helene_eur_att

« Reply #2 on: May 31st, 2007, 7:58am »

You can check "General Requirements Bulletin for Admission to the Examination for Registration to Practice in Patent Cases Before the USPTO"
Part III-E which concerns ELIGIBILITY OF ALIENS